A prayer about providence

Going through hard times? Feeling confused about how or why God has led you to where you are in life? It’s time to pray. Here’s a prayer you might like to use . . .

“Oh Lord, I know not what to ask of you. You alone know my true needs. You love me more than I myself know how to love. Help me to see my real needs which are concealed from me. I dare not ask for either a cross or consolation. I can only wait on you. 

My heart is open to you. Visit and help me, for your great mercy’s sake. Strike me and heal me, cast me down and raise me. And I will worship you in silence.

Your will is holy and your ways inscrutable, so I offer myself as a living sacrifice to you. I put all my trust in you. I have no other desire than your good and perfect will be fulfilled in my life. Guide and sustain me by your invisible hand. Teach me how to pray. And when I pray, may it be you yourself praying in me. Through Christ my Lord, Amen.”

